Message to Men: Yes, it’s okay to cry

You don’t need some kind of “good” reason to be a man and to cry.  That’s a stupid, false idea that one of my favorite movie critics is trying to tap into with this article about Toy Story 3 (which did make me cry and about which my partner has felt the need to swear up and down that he did not cry during).

Choice quote:

I’m not just talking about shedding a tear or two, or having that Brian’s Song lump in the throat. I’m talking about that soppy, awkward thing where you make sounds. Even in our huggy-sensitive post-New Age it’s-okay-for-men-to-cry culture, I was, quite frankly, a little bit embarrassed. So now, with the hope and cause of transcending my shame, I would like to own up to my inner sap and ask my fellow weepie male moviegoers to join me in saying: I cried at Toy Story 3, and it’s okay! [emphasis in original article]

Leave a Reply

