ASSH***

So, I watch The Walking Dead.  I have not yet made it through all six episodes of the first season but I really appreciate the gore and the on-the-edge-of-your-seat tone of the whole thing.  One thing I have noticed while watching the show (saw this with Mad Men, too, but I don’t have any episodes saved on my DVR) is the way the closed captioning is censored even though the show itself is not censored.  I’m just here today to ask: what is that about?  Does anyone know?  Clue me in because I find it weird.  Why would the deaf not want to see cuss words when the hearing don’t care?  Strange.

[On the screen is a dead zombie and the text over it says: “HAD ENOUGH IN HIM TO TAKE OUT THESE TWO SUMB******.”  He said, “He had enough in him to take out these two sumbitches.”]

[On the screen are two men, one saying, “TOUGHEST ASSH**** I EVER MET, MY BROTHER.”  Of course, he said, “Toughest asshole I ever met, my brother.”]

4 thoughts on “ASSH***

  1. I’m not entirely sure, but I’m going to guess it’s the fault of whatever captioning company they hired to do their closed captions. Generally captions are outsourced to companies (I have a friend who did that as a job during grad school), and I’d be willing to bet that whatever company they’re using has a blanket policy about banned words. They probably don’t even realize the show’s going to be on a cable network that allows profanities, so by default they just bleep them. That’s my guess, anyway. I suppose if A&E heard about it and was concerned enough about it they could ask the company to start spelling out “asshole” from now on… but something tells me this isn’t at the top of their to-do list!

  2. Interesting. I guess I assume some sort of direct connection between shows, channels, and the people doing closed captioning, but that is a false assumption. This makes sense. I am annoyed at it as if deaf people need to have soft, non-potentially-offensive gloves but it is probably simply miscommunication.

  3. That’s interesting, I hadn’t realised that.
    It’s a bit like the opposite of predictive texting (whereby you end up saying all sorts of unfortunate things you didn’t mean to).

Leave a Reply

