Help Public Radio: Email from my local NPR station, KUT

[Update: the title for the post originally said “PBS.”  My mistake.  I meant NPR the whole time.  I apologize.]

Just received this in my inbox:

You may be aware that the U.S. House of Representatives passed H.R. 1 this weekend, which completely eliminates federal funding for local public broadcasting stations.

We do not yet know the timing of the elimination of funds if the current proposal is also approved by the Senate. So, the funding picture is not yet clear, but the starting point for House and Senate negotiation is certainly not good.

We do know that an immediate and drastic drop in funding would have a profound impact on KUT and local stations throughout the country. KUT receives approximately $500,000 in federal funding through the Corporation for Public Broadcasting. We use about half for programs like Morning Edition and This American Life and about half for producing local news and music offerings.

To engage in the national conversation about funding public broadcasting, I urge you to visit 170 Million Americans for Public Broadcasting.

Regardless of what happens in Congress the fundamental strength and independence of KUT and public broadcasting comes from broad based community support. Now more than ever, we could use your support. You have our pledge to work hard every day to continue to earn it.

With appreciation,

Stewart Vanderwilt
Director and General Manager

I seriously love KUT and public radio in general (what’s up, This American Life?).

9 thoughts on “Help Public Radio: Email from my local NPR station, KUT

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Help Public Radio: Email from my local PBS station, KUT « Speaker's Corner -- Topsy.com

  2. I think we can deal with the loss of state run media. Since I don’t watch it I would rather it not come out of my tax dollars. They should go back to telethons to raise money.

  3. Thanks for reading and commenting.

    I don’t think KUT (which is the station I am familiar with) is “state run.” I don’t know exactly what that means when people use it to refer to public radio. KUT receives 7% of its operating budget from the Corporation for Public Broadcasting. Trust me, this isn’t governmental controlled media in any sense. So what does that phrase mean?

    I understand that people think that it should just be cut off and if the public cares enough about it, it will float (you know, from the school of the market is magic and works in a vacuum!). It isn’t that NPR gets $ from the government and they are the only news beneficiaries of the government out there. Corporations like CNN, ABC, MSNBC probably get their fair share of huge tax breaks that would amount to at least 7% of their operating budgets. For more on how NPR obtains funding, see here. There is also this info.

    And while you may not listen to NPR, that doesn’t mean that it does not have an impact on you or someone in your world. NPR often covers stories that other news organizations won’t, like the poor care the vets returning from war are receiving if they have head trauma, or the high number of rapes that occur on college campuses, or how many suspicious deaths aren’t properly investigated, or the relationship between doctors and the drugs they choose to prescribe, etc. I don’t think saying that they don’t matter simply because you don’t listen to them is unfair.

    But, like all Americans, you can wish your tax dollars to go wherever you would like (I would like my tax dollars to go to Planned Parenthood and CHIP but I’m not sure my opinion matters much to anyone in charge). I’m not saying you can’t do that.

  4. NPR is another story… Ray Kroc’s wife (McDonald’s founder) left them 200 million dollars or so that is just sitting and collecting interest… I think they need to start using that…

  5. Sorry – I totally effed this one up. I wrote PBS in my title. I meant NPR. Damn. We are talking about two different things, I fear.

  6. That’s the trouble with underfunding education in TX – you end up with people who think NPR (or PBS for that matter) are “state run media” which is completely ignorant. The bill still has to get past the Senate and it is highly unlikely to pass, but who knows what kind of chicanery awaits us still.

  7. 1) Who is from Texas?
    2) State run media is a “term” used to describe a media company that takes in tax dollars as any or all of a subsidy. NPR/ PBS uses some tax dollars and it shouldn’t. If the product is good then people will pay for it. Much like the liberal radio that was a bombing failure… no one cared… is that going to happen to NPR/PBS??? Why are tax dollars needed to fun a liberal slanting station. The fact that it slants liberal while taking tax dollars can fall under the term “state run” even.
    3) Planned parenthood should be funded by churches, charities, or volunteer organizations. I agree with planned parenthood but it shouldn’t be given any money from the government just like faith based initiatives should get zero money too.

  8. Well, then, it’s a “term” that doesn’t make much sense. I understand how you are using the term but I don’t see how that term has anything to do with reality. The state is NOT running public broadcasting. And again – major news corporations get their own version of “tax dollars” in big tax breaks. Just because the funding for NPR or PBS is more transparent doesn’t make it more subsidized.

    And if you seriously believe that the market will somehow magically match up with what people need and want in a society, I think me arguing against that idea will be futile.

Leave a Reply

