Women’s History Month

I am both a historian and a feminist so I want to use this here so-called “Women’s History month” to start focusing on posting the stories of women in history.  And since February was a ridiculously busy month for me, I missed the opportunity to post on Black History Month.

I think both are still critical.  And I think that is sad.  But stories of women, stories of black people, and ESPECIALLY stories of women of color are often skipped over or deemed unimportant to a larger historical narrative.  That’s true as much in popular history as the profession of history.  I am constantly grateful that there are a group of scholars out there actively working against all of these realities and I try my best to be a part of them whenever I can.

This is all to say that I am going to begin trying to make an active point of talking about women, people of color, and especially women of color in history that I know about, find fascinating, etc.

If you have any recommendations of people I should spotlight or if you would like to write a guest post, let me know in comments or send me an email (speakerscorneratx [at] gmail [dot] com).

Leave a Reply

