What Glee does right: Kurt and Burt

Last night’s sex talk between father and son has language that I hope to use one day when I talk to my son about sex (from NYT):

After offering his son some pamphlets on the “mechanics” of sex, he launches into The Talk:

“For most guys, sex is just this thing we always want to do. It’s fun. It feels great. But we’re not really thinking too much about how it makes us feel on the inside or how the other person feels about it.”

He goes on to caution his son not to think that “sex is just sex”:

“You’ve got to know that it means something. It’s doing something to you, to your heart, to your self-esteem, even though it feels like you’re just having fun…. When you’re ready, I want you to be able to do everything, but when you’re ready, I want you to use it as a way to connect to another person. Don’t throw yourself around like you don’t matter. Because you matter, Kurt.”

If you’d like to see a video of the scene, go to the NYT blog post where I took this text.  It’s embedded there.

Also, as Purcell_LTD just tweeted:

Those little moments when “Glee” lets me love it by being the show it could be all the time…those make the hard times harder.

This scene between Kurt and Burt – this is that little perfect TV moment that throws into even sharper relief the many moments that make me go, “huh?”.

One thought on “What Glee does right: Kurt and Burt

  1. As a former teacher who taught sex-ed in public schools (yes, I do bring it up in situations like this :)), I was caught off guard at how sensitive and on-point that conversation was. Best message to teenagers I’ve ever heard, and delivered in a sincere, honest way. Loved it!

Leave a Reply

