STFU, Rand Paul

Cross-posted from KYBOOMU

This video is INCREDIBLY infuriating:

[This video is Sen. Rand Paul, in a tussle with an Energy Department official Thursday.  He complained about what he described as burdensome, “busybody” regulations that were forcing him to buy a bad bowl. (info via) – transcription of the important parts below.]

First things first, fuck you very much, Rep. Paul for comparing the right to an abortion to the right to purchase a shitastically un-environmental toilet.

Second, Rand Paul is 100% anti-choice when it comes to a woman’s right to an abortion.  That is important to know before viewing this garbage spew of hypocrisy and condescension.  From his website:

I am 100% pro life. I believe abortion is taking the life of an innocent human being.  I believe life begins at conception and it is the duty of our government to protect this life.

I will always vote for any and all legislation that would end abortion or lead us in the direction of ending abortion.

I believe in a Human Life Amendment and a Life at Conception Act as federal solutions to the abortion issue. I also believe that while we are working toward this goal, there are many other things we can accomplish in the near term.

I would strongly support legislation restricting federal courts from hearing cases like Roe v. Wade. Such legislation would only require a majority vote, making it more likely to pass than a pro-life constitutional amendment.

I would support legislation, a Sanctity of Life Amendment, establishing the principle that life begins at conception. This legislation would define life at conception in law, as a scientific statement.

BUT when talking about how the Obama administration is trying to regulate un-environmentally sound appliance and light bulbs from being sold in this country, this is the shit he says:

Frankly, my toilets don’t work in my house, and I blame you and people like you who want to tell me what I can install on my house, what I can do. You restrict my choices. There is hypocrisy that goes on people who claim to believe and some choices but don’t want to let the consumer decide what they can buy and install in their house.

I find it insulting. I find it insulting that a lot of these products that you’re gonna make us buy and you won’t let us buy what we want to buy, you take away our choices.  These things that you want us to buy are often made in foreign countries.

You ship jobs overseas — the same thing that your administration claims to be in favor of.  You’re shipping our jobs overseas by saying we can’t make these items here.  I find it really an affront to the sensibility of the idea and notion of free marketplace, of capitalism, of freedom of choice. […]

I find it really an affront to the sensibility of the idea and notion of free marketplace, of capitalism, of freedom of choice. […]

I find it really appalling and hypocritical and I think there should be some self-examination from the administration on the idea that you favor a woman’s right to an abortion but you don’t favor a woman or a man’s right to choose what kind of lightbulb, what kind of dishwasher, what kind of washing machine. […]

I really find it troubling this busybody nature that you want to come into my house my bathroom, my bedroom, my kitchen, my laundry room. I just really find it insulting. […]

In America, we believe in trying to convince our neighbors but not trying to convince them to the force of law, and I find this antithetical to the American way. […]

But the thing is you busy-body’s always want to do something to tell us how we can live our lives better.  Keep it to yourselves.  Try to convince us through persuasion.  But don’t put put us in jail or put us out of business if we don’t accept your way thinking.

You, sir, can’t see your hypocrisy because you are blinded by your super-white privilege.  It’s so bright, it hurts my eyes, burns my brain, and restricts my civil rights, too.

Senator Paul: PLEASE KEEP YOUR OPINIONS ABOUT MY BODY TO YOURSELF AND STFU about your stupid toilets.

You and your anti-choice busy-body buddies need to stop trying, through the force of law (which you actively call for and support on your own website when it comes to abortion), to strip this RIGHT away from women.

I find you insulting.

Also, your definition of the “American way” is stupid and wrong.  Try again, once you work out your own love of force of law when it isn’t being forced on you (funny how that works, huh?).

[Head, meet desk]


As midori-fairy says on KYBOOMU: “That’s a big stretch comparing energy conservation to a woman’s right to choose. Looks like someone knows where their priorities are: in the crapper.” Right on, m-f. Right on.

One thought on “STFU, Rand Paul

Leave a Reply

