Listen to This: Bright Eyes’ “Waste of Paint”

Last week was South by Southwest Music festival here in Austin.  On Saturday night I was lucky enough to get to go to the free Bright Eyes show on Auditorium Shores.

I saw Bright Eyes when they were here a couple of years ago.  I also saw Connor Oberst, the lead singer of Bright Eyes, perform in October with Monsters of Folk.

I think his music often reminds me of Bob Dylan: it’s about the lyrics, not necessarily the voice.  It’s poetry.

One of my most favorite songs EVER is Bright Eyes’ “Waste of Paint.”  I have days where I listen to it six, seven times in a row.  I think yesterday I listened to it at least five different times.  It’s just…perfect, in my opinion.

Here is Connor Oberst performing it on Austin City Limits (lyrics):

The end is the best part.

Another amazing song, “Lua” (lyrics):

Leave a Reply

