Safe, legal, accessible, affordable, subsidized abortion on demand for whoever needs or wants it for whatever reason.

[Cross-posted from my reproductive rights blog: Keep Your Boehner Out of My Uterus.]

[UPDATE: As Beth pointed out, the graphic is grammatically incorrect. It should be “whoever.” I am too lazy right now to change the graphic. Perhaps in the future…]

I created this image based on a tweet I wrote this morning after a long twitter rant. I got myself all riled up over a prochoice advocate saying, “No woman wants an abortion.”

It’s simply NOT TRUE that no person wants an abortion. As Scott Madin wrote to me, if anything it’s that “no one wants to need an abortion.” Beth Hicks added, “Just like no one wants to need heart surgery, but it’s a necessary medical procedure.”

Antichoicers are uncomfortable with fact that some people get abortions and are relieved and happy the procedure exists? Don’t care.

Antichoicers are uncomfortable acknowledging that more people than just cis women need access to reproductive health care? Don’t care.

Antichoicers don’t want to acknowledge prevalence of abortion or fact that they most likely DO know someone who’s had one? Don’t care.

Antichoicers want to make this about zygotes and fetuses and not living, breathing people? Don’t care.

I’m not here to bow down to what makes antichoicers comfortable. I’m not going to ask for less bc we *may* then get it. Nope.

Prochoicers need to drop qualifiers on abortion except for “safe”, “legal”, “accessible”, “subsidized” and “affordable”.

Safe, legal, accessible, affordable, subsidized abortion on demand for whoever needs or wants it for whatever reason.

Safe, legal, accessible, affordable, subsidized HEALTH CARE on demand for whoever needs or wants it for whatever reason.

ABORTION IS HEALTHCARE.

About 5 months ago, I wrote about my hatred of qualifiers (at that time responding to the groan-inducing phrase, “I wouldn’t get an abortion but…”). As I said then:

You’re either for choice or you’re not.

I’m for choice. Full stop.

_________________________________________

And before you come at me with, “BUT I WANNA SAY NEGATIVE QUALIFIERS ABOUT ABORTION”:

I’m not qualifying people’s actual real-life choices when it comes to their reproductive health. I’m saying that when we talk about choice, we have to drop the qualifiers.

I truly believe that qualifiers only serve to benefit anti-choice ideas. When someone feels the need to add “but I’d never get one,” they are only doing so in order to position themselves within a specific moralistic hierarchy with themselves above people who do actually get abortions (you do it, actually, when you say “women who do not have my values”). Whether one admits it, that is the work that phrase is doing.

What I’m saying is you can feel like “I’m pro-choice but I’d never get an abortion” (though, I have to say, you never really know because you simply cannot plan for all contingencies in life) but in the political fight for reproductive rights, actually voicing the “but I’d never get an abortion” doesn’t do any good. What good could it possibly ever do except to somehow make the person who is saying the phrase feel better about themself?

I would NEVER tell anyone what choice to make ever. Never. Never. Never.

11 thoughts on “Safe, legal, accessible, affordable, subsidized abortion on demand for whoever needs or wants it for whatever reason.

  1. Yes, yes, a thousand times YES!!! I was JUST having this discussion. When I blogged about people speaking out about their abortions, I posted a picture of Gloria Steinem wearing an “I Had an Abortion” T-shirt…and a large grin. People commented that it’s one thing to need or get an abortion. But no one should be happy about it. I call bullshit. If someone is happy or relieved, then so be it. People shouldn’t feel shame or be stigmatized for their reproductive choices. If you support choice, then you support choice. Period.

  2. i tweeted you this earlier but wanted to be able to expound slightly. i agree with you so so so so much. whenever i’ve heard people say “but i’d never get one” or “i don’t want women to use them as birth control” that is always my tipping point for irritation. i know that for myself, even just a few years ago- i was one of those people. i didn’t know how tied into the choice is poverty. i didn’t know that there are many women who had to made a tough choice because of financial choice- not a moral one. i think when we remember this attitude, share it & really make it the forefront of our “fight” we can overcome. i truly believe that.

    i love this blog so hard. SO HARD.

    i have more than a few friends who were relieved, happy, even joyful about their abortions. the only ones i know that “regret” their choice are very pro-life but the hypocrisy makes me angry. you are against the choice you yourself had the opportunity to make, safely, accessible and easily. RAWR. they make a sometimes financial choice about their personal morality and that drives me up a wall. a brick wall. i beat my head upon when trying to explain to them it’s ok to be prochoice but still be against having an abortion for yourself.

  3. This is such an important message. Thank you for being bold and putting it out there in the world with no apologies, no compromises, nothing to take away from your strong pro-choice advocacy.

    And because I’m a professional editor and I notice these things, I’m going to respectfully offer a correction to the grammar: it should be “for whoever needs or wants it…” not “for whomever…”. It’s one of those confusing cases in which it looks like “whomever” is correct, but in fact the entire phrase “whoever needs or wants it…” is the object of the preposition “for,” and “whoever” is the subject of that phrase.

    (It’s not important in the grand scheme of things, of course, but I thought you’d like to know anyway!)

  4. Just to clarify: is “Who the $EXPLETIVE are you to ask?!” included in “whatever reason”?

    (I kinda like the idea of not requiring a reason for a safe, legal, accessible, affordable, subsidized abortion on demand for whoever needs or wants it. Apologies.)

  5. Yes. Yes. Yes. Aaaand…. No. To this:

    “When someone feels the need to add “but I’d never get one,” they are only doing so in order to position themselves within a specific moralistic hierarchy with themselves above people who do actually get abortions”

    my best friend has said she would never have an abortion. I believe her. Yet she is firmly pro-choice – so much so, that she came with me and held my hand while *I* had an abortion, and was 100% supportive through the whole process.

    Other than that, I agree with everything you say in this post. Abortion is legal and free and accessble to everyone where I live. I would like that option for all women. So would my friend.

  6. Again, I’m not policing peoples actual choices – AT ALL. And what people say among friends isn’t my concern either. This whole post is about how people within the movement discuss abortion on a large, public scale AND how we talk to anti-choicers about our beliefs. That language of “I’m okay if someone else gets an abortion but I’d never do that” plays into stigma that abortion is bad and I do think it helps the movement at all, only the single individual who says those words.

    Your friends sounds amazing and awesome, btw.

  7. Pingback: Reproduction & Abortion Week: ‘Girls’ and ‘Sex and the City’ Both Handle Abortion With Humor | The Opinioness of the World

  8. Pingback: Wow. « SCATX: Speaker's Corner in the ATX

  9. Pingback: What are your demands? | Life V 2.0

Leave a Reply

