My Worth

This image just came across my Facebook timeline, posted by the White House:

Obama hugging a young black girl. Her face it toward us, he is looking away. On top of the image are the words: "For our journey is not complete until our wives, our mothers, and daughters can earn a living equal to their efforts."

“For our journey is not complete until our wives, our mothers, and daughters can earn a living equal to their efforts.” – from President Barack Obama’s second inaugural speech.

I’m glad he talked about this in his inauguration speech, don’t get me wrong. But I am kinda tired of my worth being relational to other people in my life. I’m worthy of equal pay because I am a person and a citizen.

I know I know I know that this is part of a rhetorical battle but it’s one that exhausts me, the supposed benefactor of these words.

[P.S. THAT PICTURE!]

4 thoughts on “My Worth

  1. I am right there with you. I am a daughter and a sister, but neither of those are at the core of who I am. And I am neither a mother nor a wife and will never be either of those. It’s a weird combo: it’s grating and yet I’m grateful for it all at the same time. Ugh.

  2. That framing had begun to bother me as well. I mean–what if a women isn’t any of those things? Yes,if she’s cis, she will have been a daughter, but that doesn’t mean that relationship was ever a good or functional one, and she may be neither a mother or a sister. It’d be nice, then, if we didn’t predicate her worth based on her relationships with others. Nobody’s agency–social, political, economic, heck–human–should be seen in terms of hir relationship to someone else.

    Hint, Mr. President: “For our journey is not complete until every woman can earn a living equal to her efforts.” It’s not that hard.

Leave a Reply

