At The Guardian

My first-ever piece at The Guardian published on Saturday and I’m still on a high from it:

Screen shot 2013-03-04 at 10.39.09 AM

Here’s the story behind the piece:

Last weekend, I watched the Melissa Harris-Perry Show (I try to every weekend). I heard the quote I start the piece with and it bothered me but I couldn’t place why.

Then on Thursday, I decided to organize the piles of paper that stacked up over the last few months (a physical indicator of my depression). It took me about 6 hours so I did it in the living room and watched TV. One of the things I watched was The Strange History of Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell. When they got to the part about unit cohesion, it hit me why the argument about locker room distraction bothered me.

On Friday morning, I pitched the idea to The Guardian. The editor responded almost immediately saying that they’d like the piece and they wanted it by Saturday early afternoon.

It’s amazing how fast that happened. Still pinching myself.

Leave a Reply

