English Grad Student Shaming

Two people on my Facebook feed today posted the link to this amazing Tumblr where grad students in English admit the things for which they have shame: English Grad Student Shaming.

After I tweeted this link out, I got this response:

The image in the post Alexandra links to is this:

Woman holding up a piece of paper in front of her face that reads: "Number of times I've read Wuthering Heights = 0. Number of historical romances I read during the dissertation process = 63 and counting...)"

“Number of times I’ve read Wuthering Heights = 0. Number of historical romances I read during the dissertation process = 63 and counting…”

I think  my number is probably much higher than that. In total, for ALL romance novels, it’s creeping toward 200, I think. And my dissertation remains incomplete

If ever there is a History Grad Student Shaming Tumblr, I’ll have to submit that as my entry.

One thought on “English Grad Student Shaming

Leave a Reply

